Why Does Everyone Hate Terrelle Pryor?

terrelle-pryor-be270b00b841500e

Terrelle Pryor has had himself a very eventful year and it’s not because he is having a solid first true year at wide receiver for the Cleveland Browns. It’s because players and ex-players seem to have a hard on for him and love to rip him whenever they get the chance. It started this year with New York Giants corner Janoris Jenkins coming after him with this electric tweet after their game:

Jenkins-Tweet.jpg

Pryor had 6 catches for 131 yards that game not all on Mr. Clampz here but still a good game none the less.

Then another upstanding citizen by the name of Adam “Pacman” Jones from the Cincinnati Bengals game after him after their game against Pryor and the Browns. Pacman did not disappoint with his performance after the game though:

Classic PAC.

Granted Terrelle had 1 catch for 3 yards that day so he was indeed garbage. Now I’m not naive here, I know a lot of this stems from TP talking hella trash to these corners during the game. I think as a former quarterback making the switch to wide receiver you might wanna chill on the smack talk to these pro corners who have played the position most of their lives. Especially when QB’s like RG3, Cody Kessler and Kevin Hogan are throwing it to you.Totally understand why corners take it personal when a former quarterback says he is going toast you and make your defensive coordinator cut you after he is done with you.

What I don’t understand is out of nowhere shot he got today. His fellow Buckeye Brian Hartline took a shot at him today on a Columbus Radio show saying, “Is he my No. 1? God, I hope not because let’s put it this way: For me, I want a guy day in and day out I know what I’m getting. You don’t know what you’re going to get. You don’t know who’s going to show up. You don’t know if he’s going to get in trouble. You don’t know if he’s going to smart off. I need stability. That’s so much more important to me.”

Look I don’t necessarily disagree with Hartline here but then he went on to say, “You’re trying to tell me with a guy that had suspect personality characteristics, I’m going to go ahead and hand you a bunch of money but you’re going to work harder? Uh, I think I’m going to bet against that if I’m a betting man.” Damn man it’s like that? What happened to the brotherhood? He is a Ohio guy from Canton so I’m sure he is a passionate Browns fans, but c’mon bro Buckeye for life? I could understand saying, “yeah I don’t see him as a #1 WR but he has the tools to improve.” or something like that. He had to go all in on him, but it honestly sounds like sour grapes to me because Hartline was cut right before the season started because of how well Pryor was playing in camp.

Let’s not forget another former Buckeye Alex Boone came after him too when asked about his time with Pryor at Ohio State, “I hated everything about him.” Yikes, so clearly TP is an asshole and a shit talker that no one likes. Unfortunately for all of them he is an undeniable athlete that is going nowhere and will continue to get chances in the league just based off of potential. He will continue to talk trash because he knows he is bigger, faster and stronger than most people. I’m not saying it’s right but I don’t see him changing and if he improves as a WR it will only get worse. In that case he will have earned it though because 98% of wide outs talk trash.

These former Buckeyes probably hate him though because he got their boy sweater vest fired for tattoo gate. Even though they should be thanking that man! Because of him and his love for handouts, the Buckeyes got conservative 1930’s football Jim Tressel out of there and got GOD himself Urban Meyer. So thank you Terrelle, thank you so much for everything that you’ve done!

I’ll leave you with one last Terrelle story that always stuck with me as a Buckeye. Whenever Terrelle would go to college parties at his time in Columbus, he would walk in with his entourage and someone from his crew would yell, “Terrelle needs 2!” Implying he needed two women, then he would get two girls and go about his night with two smokeshows by his side.

Yeah I’d hate that guy too…

Leave a Reply

